AUD230 Weekly Recap 4

I really pushed myself this week to make some major progress in both non-linear projects. While this took up the majority of my week, I also spent some time creating an edit of one of my favourite songs from my favourite artists.

T.I.M.E (Trapped Inside, Must Escape) – Animation

Despite sleeping through the scheduled group meeting, I actually made significant progress on multiple aspects of the project this week. I finished composing the music in a linear pattern, which meant I could save a new version of the project, delete all the filter information and consolidate the audio into 8 and 16 bar phrases. This then creates WAV files in the project folder, which I copied into a new folder and imported into FMOD. I’ve built the basic framework of the composition within FMOD, including the modulation and filter parameter knobs which I used in the last project I created for Jen.

Screen Shot 2018-10-15 at 5.50.55 pm

My v3 Checklist for T.I.M.E

I met my goals from last week to get the project into FMOD, and I actually managed to get a lot of the mixing done as well. From here I have 2 weeks to refine the music within FMOD as well as create any additional assets I need to fill out the game.

Weapons Untested – Good Chat Games

I booked a session in the S6 this week to record some guitars over the scratch track. Stephen came along to the session as both an artist and engineer, I asked if he would like to mix the guitar takes we recorded while I finish the rest of the track. Before this session, I did get another bounce of the scratch track done, which was one of my optional goals for the week. I also did create 3 different weapon sounds, which I will hopefully expand upon by the end of the week. Through this process, I’ve realised that if I want to make the sounds loop-able I will have to do this within FMOD. For next week this track needs to be in FMOD, as do at least 3 sets of the weapon sounds. The team has also come up with some weapon concepts which I can start creating the sounds for this week as well.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

RL Grime & Boys Noize – Pressure (Mudgumbo Edit)

RL Grime’s ‘Pressure’ – Source: (Steinway, 2018)

Despite being incredibly under the pump with other projects, I still managed to find time for me to just create something, just because I wanted too. RL Grime and Boys Noize’s second collaboration, Pressure, has been a favourite of mine since I first heard it played out before its release in 2016. Now that it has finally been released, I decided to make my own drum and bass (DNB) edit. The song’s original tempo, 188bpm, can very easily be slowed down to a DNB friendly 178bpm. From there I created a DNB drum pattern, multiband side-chained the lows to the kick and the mids to the snare, notched out selective frequencies. Rather than try to make a fully-fledged remix, the purpose of this edit was for me to practise my drum processing, however just adding drums alone wouldn’t be interesting enough, so I also chopped up the original track to emphasise the new drums more. In order to focus on other projects, I’ve done as much work as I feel is necessary, so this is the final version of my edit. I won’t do a full post-mortem on this project as there isn’t enough content that will be different to other projects I’m working on this trimester.

Goals for the coming Week

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Works Cited

Steinway, H. (2018, July 26). RL Grime – Pressure (Official Music Video). Retrieved October 2018, from YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2TOAyDYfq4

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.